Prem Prasad Varma appointed as the next Chief Secretary: Assam CM.

Tarun gogoiGuwahati: On Saturday, Assam CM Tarun Gogoi said that he has appointed Additional Chief Secretary Prem Prasad Varma as the next Chief Secretary with effect from July 1, 2013.

The current Naba Kumar Das, a 1976 batch IAS officer, will retire on June 30, Gogoi said.

Chief Minister told to reporters that “I have already appointed Varma. Today I am making it public. He will take charge after Das retires on the last day of this month.”

Varma, a 1978 batch IAS officer, is currently the Additional Chief Secretary, Health and Family Welfare, Social Welfare and Public Health Engineering Departments.

Leave a comment