Assam govt announced panchayat elections to be held from Jan 30 next year.

Assam panchayat electionsGuwahati: Assam government announced panchayat elections to be held in three phases from January 30 next year.

State election commissioner Biren Dutta said that the polls will be held on January 30, February 6 and February 12, 2013.

The intact expenses of the elections for 26,844 constituencies will be Rs 70 crore, Dutta said that adding that there will be a total of 22,869 polling stations and 1,27,56,804 voters.

In the first phase on January 30, elections will be held in upper Assam districts of Tinsukia, parts of Dibrugarh district, Jorhat, Sibsasar, Golaghat, parts of Nagaon district mainly Kaliabor area, Lakhimpur and Dhemaji.

In the second phase on February 6, elections will be held in enduring parts of Dibrugarh district, Sonitpur, Darrang, Nalbari, Bongaigaon, Kamrup and Morigaon.

He said that the rest of the districts will be covered in the last phase on February 12 and including will take place on February 14 and 15.

The last date of filing nominations for the first phase will be December 21, 2012, second phase on January 8 and last phase on January 16, 2013.

The Congress which is heading the alliance government in the state is the ruling party in the panchayats.

Leave a comment