AGP slammed Tarun Gogoi govt for Indo-Bangla land-swap deal.

AGPGuwahati: On Tuesday, a three-member team of Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) including party MPs Biren Baishya, Kumar Dipak Das and Joseph Toppo met PM Manmohan Singh and opposed the anticipated Constitution Amendment Bill for implementation of the Indo-Bangla land-swap deal.

The proposed bill for implementation of the India-Bangladesh Land Boundary Agreement, 1974 and its 2011 protocol is listed for consent during the ongoing winter session of the Parliament.

AGP MP Das said that “At a time when the state is plagued by issues like illegal influx of immigrants from Bangladesh, the proposed step by the Centre and the state government is a betrayal to the people of the state. AGP will not tolerate the move and will do everything to bar it.”

In the meantime, party workers in the state staged a state-wide protest by organizing dharnas in every district on Tuesday. Hundreds of AGP workers staged a sit-in demonstration facing the party’s head office at Ambari to oppose the proposed bill.

The AGP criticized the Tarun Gogoi government for helping prohibited infiltrators with the proposed land swap deal.

Leave a comment