Assam emerges as a champion of 34th Sub-Junior National Football.

34th Sub-Junior National Football winnerMargao: Assam beat Chandigarh with 2-0 to appear champions of the 34th Sub-Junior National Football for Mir Iqbal Hussain Trophy at the Nehru Stadium.

Skipper Milan Basumatary scored for Assam in the 11th minute. The early goal gave them assurance as the East Zone boys secured well and makes sure Chandigarh did not equalise. The Chandigarh forward line had a forgettable outing as they failed to convert a host of chances that came their way.

Chandigarh begins the second half showing lots more determination and gave Assam a run for their money. But, luck continued to escape them as, in spite of their nonstop efforts, they failed to find the equalising goal.
However, Assam made the most of their probability. Striker Zeherul Islam scored from a radiant pass by Rafel Inarzary in the 89th minute to secure the triumph for Assam. Basumatary was considered the man of the match.

Leave a comment