Rahul selects five Assam MLAs for extra push to win.

Rahul gandhiGuwahati: Five young Congress MLAs from the state will be part of Rahul Gandhi’s special team that will help some party candidates in Uttar Pradesh and give them that extra push required to win.

All the five MLAs are debutants and Rahul has handpicked them based on their ‘election winning capabilities’.

The five legislators, with eight other MLAs from Rajasthan and West Bengal with the similar winning qualities, were given an orientation conversation by Union minister of state for home Jitendra Singh at the Youth Congress headquarters in New Delhi on Friday before each of them left for the constituency allotted to them.

Pijush Hazarika, legislator from Raha constituency and president of the state unit of Youth Congress, is heading for Jalalpur constituency; Chaygaon MLA Reikibuddin Ahmed is going to Mohammadabad constituency; Nalbari legislator Jayanta Mallah Baruah to Katehari; Thowra legislator Sushanta Borgohain to Dumariyaganj and Khumtai legislator Bismita Gogoi to Akbarpur constituency.

Pijush Hazarika told that after the orientation programme that 13 Congress MLAs are going to different UP constituencies that are going to polls in the first and second phase.

All the five MLAs of the state were prior selected by Rahul himself as the party’s candidates for the state assembly election held previous year.

Leave a comment