Nine rebel groups put down arms before R-Day: Tarun Gogoi.

Tarun GogoiGuwahati: Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi said nine rebel groups on ceasefire agreements with the government would surrender arms before the Republic Day.

These rebel groups are Adivasi Cobra Militants of Assam, Birsa Commando Force, Adivasi National Liberation Army, Kuki Liberation Army, Kuki Revolutionary Army, United Kuki Democratic Army, Hmar Peoples Convention, Santhal Tiger Force and Adivasi Commando Force.

Gogoi told to the reporters that efforts for peace agreements with other radical groups now on ceasefire with the government were progressing definitely.

The agreement with the United Peoples Democratic Solidarity was signed and that with the Dima Halam Daogah (Jewel) was about complete, he said.

However, the government was not agreeable to the underground Karbi Longri National Liberation Front’s demand for implementation of Article 244(A) for a state within a state, he said. Hardly progress was made with the pro-talk NDFB as the government was not in agreement with its demand for a separate state, he adding, efforts were on to carry the anti-talk NDFB to the peace process.

Leave a comment