About 150 Indian hockey players signed three years contract with WSH.

Indian HockeyThe current Indian hockey team members have signed on and received advanced payments to play in the World Series Hockey (WSH) beginning next month, the reports said.

A total of 150 Indian players, comprising all the top stars from the present national side, have almost signed a three years contract with the organisers of the league to be played across different cities of the country from December 17 to January 22.

However, the tournament has been in the centre of the ‘club Vs country’ controversy as it is not a FIH sanctioned event.

FIH has also endangered to bar the players from its prospect tournaments if they take part in WSH. The world body has recommended to players to wait till 2013 when FIH and Hockey India will launch their own world league.

A media release from the organisers today claimed that veteran forwards Arjun Halappa and Prabhjot Singh, goalkeeper Adrian D’Souza and mid fielder Sardar Singh have been signed up by the organisers to play in the tournament that would feature eight franchise teams for 61 matches.

The other Indian players include ace drag flicker Sandeep Singh, current captain Rajpal Singh, goalkeeper Bharat Chetri and emerging champion Yuvraj Walmiki, who dazzled with his tournament winning goal at the Asian Champions Challenge. WSH also marks the comeback of former players Viren Rasquinha and Dhanraj Pillay.

The league will also observe the participation of Gurjinder Singh, the India U 21 captain; 19 years old forward Kangujam Chinglensana Singh, forward Victo Singh and the best player of the last National Games, S K Uthappa.

The WSH will involve 200 leading players including Indian and international, who will showcase their talent in 61 matches.

Leave a comment