PM Manmohan Singh inducted 8 new faces in Cabinet Reshuffle.

Manmohan SinghPrime Minister Manmohan Singh dropped 7 ministers, and introduced 8 and eminent 3 in his much hyped cabinet reshuffle that led to a unique show of divergence in the ranks, the reports said.

The 78-member council of ministers comprises 62 from the Congress and16 from its allies. But, the reshuffle has not gone well with 2 of the ministers, Srikant Jena and Gurudas Kamat. Kamat later on resigned in a huff in protest against the portfolio allocated to him.

Amongst the key changes, Salman Khursheed took over the law ministry from Veerappa Moily, who was moved to corporate affairs.

Dinesh Trivedi of the Trinamool Congress acquires the railway portfolio with Cabinet rank. Congress leader and seasoned Parliamentarian from Andhra Pradesh Kishore Chandra Deo, a fresh face in the Cabinet was appointed the Minister for Panchayat Raj and Tribal Affairs.

Beni Prasad Verma from Uttar Pradesh was endorsed to the Cabinet rank whilst retaining him in the steel ministry. On the other hand, Commerce and Industry Minister Anand Sharma acquired extra charge of textiles. Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pawan Bansal will be in alleging of water resources, too.

Leave a comment